Skip to main content

You are here

Using jeenodes as a "wireless bridge" for thermistors

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
cc
Using jeenodes as a "wireless bridge" for thermistors

I use a microcontroller to control various processes in my home brewery that is essentially a black box. It does it's thing very well, but I can't change it's firmware.

It has multiple thermistor inputs, multiple 5V control inputs, and multiple 5V control outputs. I'd like to design a breakout box to relocate some of the I/O to a remote location, about 50' away. I have played with arduinos, and I'm a competent programmer, but my electrical knowledge is lacking. I'm curious is anyone has input, or if this is even possible.

Goals:

• Existing "black box" controller sees I/O just like it does now
  • 2 or more JeeNodes act as wireless bridges between the controller I/O and endpoint boxes

My main concern with this is the thermistor inputs for the controller. Is it possible to create a circuit that looks just like a thermistor to the controller box, but is actually being read elsewhere?

Thanks everyone!

martynj

@cc - can you measure the resistance range of the thermistors (highest likely, lowest likely)?

cc

@martynj Would I just do this with a voltmeter with the thermistor at expected range temperatures?

cc

The spec on the thermistors I am currently using with the controller shows them at 10 kΩ at 25C. I have no idea what the resistance range is though. I'll have to determine that by testing somehow.

cc

I was able to find a range calculation spreadsheet on the website of the thermistor manufacturer. By the specs, the operating range I will be dealing with will be roughly 6 kΩ to 80 kΩ .

Sorry for all the responses, kind of fumbling through this as I go :)

martynj

@cc, reasonable range. Have a look at these digital pots - basically a resistance value set (and saved) on command.